Mid-Semestaday

Today was one of those days that you were glad came around…and at the same time you were a bit miffed that it did come around.

You know what I’m talking about yeah?

Last day of the mid-semester (yay) but your lab report was due (damn)…and an English test to boot (damn2).

Alhamdulillah, the test wasn’t that bad, considering I was told of its existence merely minutes before I left the house, thanks Met…yeah, I know, I know, SUP BRO!

Like everyone else, I was staying up late last night finishing my lab report. I had actually taken initiative to get it done BEFORE the last minute…but yeah, the last minute pulled a fast one on me and caught me by surprise!

Sneaky last minute.

Therefore, it’s not much of a surprise to see how professional my report sounded in the beginning and then slowly you can see the IQ level of the author (that would be me) begin to drop as you made your way towards the end of the report. How bad could it be, you ask?

Let’s just say I was lucky enough to be finishing my report in complete sentences in the sleepy state I was in at the time.

Had a hard time waking up too…ok, when do I NOT have a hard time getting up yeah?

Oh my do I have stories about me getting up, here’s a recent one:

I was being woken up to make it for my lecture one day.

I didn’t want to get up.

My mum shrugged and shrugged me. She’s small and adorable and her little shrugs did little to wake me…but eventually, she achieved some sort of conscious behaviour from her son.

“What is it Booga?”, I asked sleepily.

“Aman, wake up for school,” she replied, ever so kindly.

“No, I don’t want to…”, I replied, as if I had the luxury of a choice.

“Aman, wake up,” she said again.

I decided to bargain.

“5 more minutes Ma…” I said.

“No Aman, it’s late as it is, get up,” she said.

“5 more minutes Ma…” I said again, it was a good offer.

“Aman…”, she said.

Ok, I could see she was a hard bargainer.

“Alright then…15 minutes,” I replied.

NOW THERE’S A BARGAIN!

Anyway, back to the rest of the day:

Did my cell drawings (compared to animal and flower drawings, I’d take cell and bacteria drawings any day of the week thankyouverymuch!) during lunch with El-Homo (Metis Wong Kuan Lee) and Azman. It’s cool hanging out with the Az-man…with only one unfortunate drawback: Met will call, “Man!” and we’d both turn.

:s

Upon confessing my annoyance to the Homo of Homos, he smiled at me slyly and said, “Don’t worry bro, it’s all good. I’ll just call him Khai”.

Sure.

“Man!”

And we’d both turn…I raised my eyebrow at Met and he just shrugged his shoulders.

“Sorry, bad habit,” he said.

Oh well, small price to pay for good friendship no?

And Azman’s cool too! Just a ‘z’ away from being as cool as Aman πŸ˜‰

We had lunch at MOD’s, a really nice restaurant off Jerudong road, near the Shell station. If you haven’t been there, it’s about darn time I reckon! The juices there are fantastic and they’re served in TALL glasses that take A WHILE to finish. Always a good thing πŸ™‚

Their fried rice dishes are lacking a little but everything else is top notch says I. I love tom yam and they DELIVER! They’re noodles are super-duper (kay, that’s kinda gay, but I was eating noodles sitting next to the Master of Metrosexuals, so yeah, terms he’d understand…SUP BRO!).

I had the tom yam noodles with beef (butofcourse) and I requested that they make it really really hot.

And it was really…really…hot.

I was sweating, tearing, nose was running, panting…oh wow, I love such dishes. Spicy dishes are the ONLY dishes that’ll invoke such reactions from you…*sigh* love it πŸ™‚ The chilli was so strong in fact, that even during the lab, my eyes were still itchy.

Met tried it and immediately his eyes widened and his mouth slacked open and he was like, “Daaaaamn….”

Azman tried it and he was like, “Mm…it’s ok”

Told you he was cool.

Sup bro!!!

When we got back to the lab, we had a practical with Dr. Kushan Tennakoon. A really nice guy! I mean, who doesn’t like him? He’s really passionate about teaching and very concerned about making sure his students understand everything. I, for one, appreciate him as a teacher and a person. I mean, like all lecturers, he has his idiosyncrasies (who doesn’t), but nothing traumatizing or majorly disturbing, but, vatever, I digress πŸ˜‰

Practical was cool. The group was ORGANIZED yeah! Finally!

Guttation

I know you may not particularly care…but this is called ‘guttation’ πŸ™‚

Ya learn something new everyday!

I even discovered a NEW method of finding the stomata in the Nymphea sp. plant! Yeah! Don’t ask me why, I just saw the big xylem vessels in the stalk of the leaf and wondered what would happen if I blew into it…and tada! Air bubbles!

I call the technique,

Aman Alhamid’s Awesome Air Bubble Technique

Thank you.

Thank you.

πŸ˜‰

Well, Dr. Kushan was impressed anyway.

Had to leave early to attend my geo lecture, a special lecture by the HOD of Geo, Mr. John Onu Odihi from Nigeria. He’s REALLY nice, always greeting me and exchanging pleasantries. His lecture was very informative and he’s got a cool accent.

Anyway yeah, and that was the end of another day at UBD, but not just any day, the last day of the mid-semester! Yay!

Personally, I have some top secret plans of what I’m gonna be doing during the break, I shant spill what they are now, but if I get them done, I shall list them out here Insha Allah πŸ™‚

To all the UBD-ians, I sincerely wish you nights of great relaxation and days of great unwinding. You know you deserve this rest.

And what better way to kick-start your relaxation than by watching this (shameless plug!):

β€œThe most beautiful experience we can have is the mysterious.”

-Albert Einstein

 

Have a nice break guys.

Salaams and stay safe,

Aman

3 Responses to “Mid-Semestaday”

  1. ‘Aman Alhamid’s Awesome Air Bubble Technique’

    Yea yea we all know that you BLOW well eh? SUP’ BRO!

    happy holidays buddy πŸ™‚

  2. Well if it isn’t the Homo of Homos, welcome bro!

    Out of the 1000+ words I typed out… the only word you care to remember is ‘blow’…

    *sigh*

    I must work harder to make you straight.

    SUP’ BRO!!!

    See you when I see you big guy!

  3. damn it, too bad u cant use cbox… haha i can see you actually type lotsa words on your blog.. haha i dont really type that much unless i need to… lol

Leave a Reply

