Imitation

…is the best form of flattery, or so they say.

whitehouse_visit_1990-crop.jpg

This post is going to be about Michael Jackson, so if you don’t particularly like the topic, feel free to click elsewhere. Don’t worry, I won’t be hurt πŸ™‚

But if you’re neutral on the subject and you don’t mind reading a little bit about one of the best entertainers who ever lived, then by all means…read on πŸ™‚

One has to understand that when you’re the most famous man, in the world (seriously, go to the most ulu part of Indonesia or Africa, where they don’t even have Internet…say ‘Michael Jackson’ and you’ll get a positive response, say ‘Aman Alhamid’ and you’ll probably be slapped with a trout or a rock, depending on the country) you are bound to have impersonators who wished they had your kind of success.

Now, I love MJ to bits, I must say, but I am NOT an impersonator, nor would I make a very good one. I just take fashion advice from him πŸ˜‰

Now, one thing you NEED in order to be a good MJ impersonator is a good, tall, slim body frame. I am the opposite of all that. Plus, with the amount of fur (100% imported from South Yemen. Please ah, I only have the best of the best quality stuff) I am covered with, all those spins and moves aren’t going to go down so smoothly. Too much wind resistance πŸ˜‰

Plus I have a rather large gluteus maximus. So that’s not gonna work.

There are basically 3 main rules about being a good MJ impersonator:

  1. Get your dancing steps down…pat.
  2. DO NOT sing.
  3. Re-read points number 1 and 2…especially 2.

Let’s face it, you’ll never be as good as the original. The original can sing and dance. You’ll be lucky enough to be able to do ONE of those…and seeing as how his voice is like a bird (and yours is more like a crow)…you’re best bet would be to stick with the dancing.

Heck even the real deal, MJ, can’t sing and dance most of the time (during concerts), he gets out of breath and usually lip syncs (mainly for the fast paced songs, i.e. Thriller or Jam).

Now I cannot sing and I most definitely cannot dance, but I have seen my fair share of good MJ impersonators, so I know what I’m talking about here πŸ™‚

Why am I telling you all this? (Bet you wished you clicked outta here when you had the chance huh?)

The reason is because of this gentleman you see below.

He is everything, an MJ impersonator does NOT want to be…well, except maybe having the good frame.

It started out promising…until he opened his mouth.

Oh. My. God.

WHAT WAS THAT?!

He RUINED the best song ever made…Billie Jean!

Allow me to type out this man’s rendition of it (and no, they ain’t typos, he really said all this):

She was more like a beauty queen,
From a movie sheen.
I shay don’t mind but what do you mean,
I am the ooooone.
Who will dance, on the floor, in the round.
She say I am the ooooone.
Who will dance, on the floor, in the round.

She told my her name was Billie Jean,
As she squashed da sheen,
Then every hand and da eyes dreamed,
Being the ooooone.

People always told me,
And be careful of youuu,
What donut breaking young girl’s heart,
Heeeee heeee,
And another also told me,
And to be careful of youuuu,
And be careful of youuu,
Becomes the true.

Hey hey hey,
The Billie Jean is not my love,
She’s just a girl,
How comes I am the oooonneee,
But the kid it’s bin not my son,
She said I am the one,
But the kids it’s bin not my son.

The Billie Jean is not my love,
The Billie Jean is not my love,
The Billie Jean is not my love,
The Billie Jean is not my love.

Now…

Forgive me if I’m wrong…but…

If you’re going to an Idol contest…which, if I’m not mistaken, is a contest where you go to sing

You would think that the participants would at least memorize the proper lyrics…

I mean, it’s the least they could do right?

But no, this guy absolutely butchered one of the BEST songs ever made and turned it into…I don’t even know what.

The only part he got right was the ‘Who will dance, on the floor, in the round.’ but I mean, that’s a no-brainer right?

The rest of the song…what?

And she squashed da sheen,

What?!

It’s supposed to be (and I’m not referring to any sites or anything):

And she CAUSED a scene

And this one:

What donut breaking young girl’s heart,

Huh?

Donut?!

What?!

In WHAT MJ song does he EVER say ‘donut’?!

And your ‘hee hee’s need ALOT of work buddy.

Dude! Come on!

I can SEE how you might have misheard the lyrics…but MAN do your reading!

He LOOKS like a decent MJ impersonator, no doubt. He just has to work on his moves…and RE-READ rule number 2 of MJ impersonation…like all the time.

I apologize my dear blog readers, for ranting on about something you probably couldn’t care less about…but yeah. To see MJ’s best work be butchered like that…ini macam tak boleh.

To make it up to you and wipe clean your memory of what you just saw, watch this (its only 1:30 mins long):

*Michael moves with flawless precision*

Better? πŸ™‚

Anyone can sing Billie Jean…or any other song for that matter.

Whether you sing it well or not, is the real question.

I guess it relates to this old quote:

“Just because you can, doesn’t mean you should.

Stay safe everyone,

You too Mr. Squash Da Sheen (work harder, you’ll get there πŸ™‚ ),

Aman

5 Responses to “Imitation”

  1. […] aolblogt wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt…is the best form of flattery, or so they say. […]

  2. MY GOD HE’S A VERY BAD BAD BAD BAD MJ IMPERSONATOR!!! i laughed till i choked haha. daym!

  3. Just make sure you don’t squash da sheen.

  4. HAHAHAHAH, what the..?? sooo not MJ huh haha..very very bad impersonator eyh.LOLS.

  5. Awu Zam!

    But don’t worry, the kid its bin not his son…apparently.

    :s

Leave a Reply

