At First Glance

Salaams all!

I just got back from the masjid earlier.

Any dude can tell you that it can get a bit dull, sitting in the mosque listening to the sermon. I try my best to zone in, but seeing as how the sermon is in Malay, and seeing as how my Malay is close to laughable, zoning in is a little difficult. But I try.

But no one can argue that the boredom gets to you. Once in a while, you’d catch yourself daydreaming, drawing useless figures and shapes in the carpet or wondering what you’re gonna do when you’re done with prayers; the odd habits men do during the sermon.

I have a weird habit during Jumaat prayers. I know alot of men have weird habits during Jumaat prayers but I think mine’s exceptionally unique πŸ™‚

I count toes πŸ™‚

Well, not like continuously. I’m not like Rainman or anything.

See, ever since I was little, I would glance at and observe people and what they were doing. During that glance, I would only catch a glimpse of their feet and it LOOKED like they had 6 toes!!!

WOW!

I had to double check, and recount them…oh no, there were 5.

Whew!

So you see, that habit has stuck until today, to constantly check that everyone in the mosque…or at least in my field of vision, has 5 toes on each foot πŸ™‚

One Friday, I was still rather young, whilst sitting in Masjid Omar Ali in Bandar, I was on ‘toe patrol’ as usual – glancing around, making sure that all was in order and that everyone had 5 toes on each foot.

Until…

I perchanced upon this gentleman…who, at first glance had 6 toes!

“My bad,” I thought, I knew that if I were to count again, I would be wrong.

I counted.

Still 6 toes.

“No…I must be wrong”, I thought, after all, my maths was pathetic.

I counted and recounted.

Still 6 toes.

It then dawned on me…

The dude really had 6 toes on each foot…

6toes2.jpg

*Looks like 5 toes at first glance*

It was surreal.

Look at it from my point of view, for YEARS I would be counting toes (ok, that kinda sounds sad…) during my toe patrol and I would ALWAYS think that the dude had 6 toes at first glance, but it never turned out to be so upon re-counting it…

But now…it’s like, it’s like a nightmare come true! And no matter how many times I counted and recounted, the 6th toe would not go away!

I felt like I had to do something!

Report this to someone!

This wasn’t right!

Call the Police or get the Fire Brigade or something!

Should I donate money?

Ok, slow down Aman…

I then did a double take…

I sat there…and checked myself out for a minute…

I’m freaking out…because I saw a dude that has 6 toes on each foot…(how sad can you get right?)

Besides, the guy doesn’t even look BOTHERED by the fact that he has 6 toes on each foot.

He’s just sitting there, chilling.

Maybe it’s ok?

Maybe it’s a gift?

Or…maybe…maybe it’s a superpower…?

Ok, maybe not, but think about it.

We’re all special somehow…some are kinder than others, some are more sincere than others, some are hairier than others (grins proudly), some are more understanding than others…and some have…more…toes…than…others.

It has to be said that alot of our ‘specialties’ are hidden within and it sometimes takes many many years before we find that special ‘something’ in a person that makes him/her unique.

Sometimes it takes only a few minutes after knowing someone.

But for some, their specialties are on the outside, for all to see. It serves as a reminder for US to be thankful for being…what we consider…normal.

Some are blind…some are deaf…some are mute…and some, have 6 toes πŸ™‚

It doesn’t make us any better than them…but in my opinion, it makes THEM better than us.

Why?

Such ‘specialties’ humble you.

Because you know you’re different.

And if one man is more humble than the other.

Then he is the better man…no matter how many toes he has.

Because remember, on the Day of Judgement, God will look at our character and WHO we are and WHAT we did…not how many toes we have πŸ™‚

Needless to say…I made it a point to give salaam to that 6-toed man after the prayers, all those years ago.

He returned my salaam.

Ever so humbly.

.

.

.

Stay safe everybody,

And count your toes for me, so I don’t have to πŸ˜‰

Aman

8 Responses to “At First Glance”

  1. aman told me that he has a fetish for toes too heh heh heh πŸ˜‰

  2. hmmm i had a friend once who had 6 fingers…

    maybe that cud be ur new hobby… finger patrol… hmm that doesnt sound right.. lol

  3. HAHAHAHA finger patrol!! the tibster loves that for sure!

  4. one, two, three, four, five, six
    no wait i’ll count again
    one, two, three, four, five….
    oh yeah am good

  5. Alhamdulillah.

    Almost called the fire brigade πŸ™‚

  6. what’s the fire brigade gna do?…..hose off that extra toe???? πŸ˜›

  7. What do you think they carry around AXES for…?

    πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

