A Who?

Salaams to every who and every one!

You may be asking, “Hey, what’s going on?”

I’ll tell you what what and a fiddle dee doo,

Just watched a movie and so a review for you.

* * *

In case the rhyming hasn’t tipped it off yet, I just watched the latest Dr. Seuss movie, ‘Horton Hears A Who!’ (HHAW!) last night.

Wanted to write the review then, but that poem in the previous post was ringing in my head, so I had to put it down.

Yes, I tend to write poems when I am emotionally stirred and like all poems, the interpretation of it is yours 🙂

I was told recently, by a friend, that the best poets of the Middle East, were from Yemen.

Why am I not surprised 😉

Alright, so my poems are pretty cruddy but they’re heartfelt.

To those who are concerned, please know I am feeling a little better.

They say music soothes the savage beast…but I beg to differ.

I think a Booga’s prayer for the savage beast does it better 🙂

I love my mum 🙂

ANYWAY, on to the review!

Before we continue, you have to know that contrary to popular belief, Dr. Seuss’ name is not pronounced with an S, but it’s pronounced with a Z. ALSO, it’s not supposed to rhyme with ‘juice’, but instead, it’s supposed to rhyme with ‘voice’.

That’s right, his name is pronounced ‘Dr. Zoice’.

That’s German for ya (where Seuss’s family originally migrated from).

Aren’t you glad that you always learn something new on this blog? 😉

Hehehehe, alright, alright, on to the movie!

horton_hears_a_who.jpg
*Horton Hears A Who! the movie*

HHAW! is a heartwarming adventure/comedy for kids (and hairy 24 year olds) that’s obviously based on Dr. Seuss’ book of the same name.

horton_hears_a_who_.jpg
*Horton Hears A Who! the book*

First off, the animation is fantastic. And not only that, but the Seuss-ian characters were really well made , i.e. they look like how they do in the book (fur-covered fingers and all).

As you pass through Whoville, in the movie, the scenery was adapted straight from the book, i.e. so many complex and precarious things, like riding a unicycle and balancing a stack of books, whilst talking on a phone, were taking place. I always loved that about Seuss’ books, how completely impossible things appear so perfect… and how they all looked so nonchalant about it 🙂

What I love to look for in any computer animated movie that stars big names (in this one it’s Jim Carrey), is how the character the voice actor plays tends to look like the voice actor. You see, the animators make the character bear a slight resemblance to the voice actor because it enables the animators to use the expressions of the voice actor ON the animated character, making whatever he’s saying, more believable. And looking at Horton (played by Carrey), you can see a slight resemblance.

I know Carrey can play many roles but I never imagined an elephant to be one of them. The man of many faces does it again!

Whilst I haven’t read the book, I can definitely tell that the movie was ‘padded out’ a bit. In other words, they added things to the story to make it longer. Let’s face it, all of Seuss’ books were over too soon, they were never more than about 15 pages. So understandably, they added some stuff which I can’t quite say I appreciate but I don’t blame them either.

What’s nice is that it doesn’t deviate much from the ACTUAL story; that being Horton doing his best to take care of Whoville – you’ll get the idea when you watch it, cos I ain’t ruining it for you here!

14621665_horton1.jpg

Somehow I half-expected the entire movie to be in rhyme, but I guess that’s a bit too much to ask, even from Hollywood 😉

But a rhyme does break out every once in a while and that’s when you’ll see the original Seuss moments come to life. My favourite rhyme and coincidentally the tag line of the movie, is “After all, a person is a person, no matter how small“, it’s so typically Seuss-ish, ya gotta love it.

Ok, so apart from the very decent story line, voice acting and visuals…what else is there?

Sentimentality.

The movie brought me back to my childhood days. Where I used to play all by myself, living in my imagination and making believe that completely useless and meaningless things…were important. Like, ‘Don’t Let The Balloon Touch The Ground’ game or ‘The Floor Is Lava’ game. Why? Because in this movie, everyone else in the story thinks that Horton is imagining things, and trust me, it sure looks that way when you watch him talking to that flower.

But it reminded me of me, when I was young and tender, perhaps not talking to flowers…but talking to kittens, my slippers and even my own body 🙂

I also particularly like the movie because it touches on a few topics, that, if you were to watch it without paying much attention, you wouldn’t notice.

Due to the nature of the story (which I won’t ruin for you little munchkins 🙂 ) many important child development principles come into play, like the big protecting the small, about telling the truth and being honest with yourself.

Other themes they touched upon would be to stand for what you believe in, and trying to convince others when they are all against you.

I couldn’t help but think about how I would make my kid (if i am blessed enough to have one, Insha Allah) watch this and then point out how the Prophet S.A.W. had to face similar obstacles during his life time, spreading the truth and trying to change the way people think. This movie is the PERFECT medium for trying to get the child to connect with principles he would otherwise not comprehend.

There’s just so many lessons, acted out in this movie that any parent can ask the child to recall the movie and show that ‘if Horton can do it, so can you’ kind of thing.

Am I making any sense?

Basically, it’s not a brain-dead children’s movie. There are morals and lessons here that children AND adults can learn (re-learn for the latter group).

Ok, right now we know two things:

1. The fact that I’m talking about parenting is a bit…weird.

and

2. It’s a great movie 🙂

So what’s the score?

Well, since the movie made me feel like a kid again and think about the upbringing of my unborn children…I give it a solid 9 out of 10 🙂

* * *

Stay safe everybody and do take care,

Just do not forget, who has the most chest hair!

Aman 😉

12 Responses to “A Who?”

  1. panjang juehh review! =p

  2. GEEEEEE i wonder which idiot told u that yemenis were gr8 poets *rolls eyes*….hehehe

  3. Gosh, yeah…I wonder who 😉

  4. one fish two fish, red fish blue fish =)

  5. Haha!

    My fave is:

    I do not like them Sam I am,
    I do not like Green Eggs and Ham.

    I do not like them in a box.
    I do not like them with a fox.

    I do not like them in a house.
    I do not like them with a mouse.

    I do not like them here or there.
    I do not like them anywhere.

    I do not like green eggs and ham.
    I do not like them, Sam-I-am.

  6. Green Eggs and Ham! =D

    Cute. But I still prefer one fish two fish, red fish blue fish. hehe

    Used to read that to the lil girl all the time. =)

  7. Green eggs and ham… 😦

  8. …black fish blue fish, old fish new fish.

    This one has a little star! This one has a little car.
    Say! what a lot of fish there are!

    =)

    aww… nah. not working. :p

  9. Ms Zoice Says:

    Of course it is!

    Please pardon the random spamming. Lol.

    Bored huh me? XD

  10. Dr. Seuss is classic, i forgot how much that guy packed into such simple storylines… they didn’t add much to the original story either except for the usual Jim Carreyisms.

  11. Hey Patrick,

    Thanks for dropping by!

    Yeah, it’s true, but they did pad the story out a bit to make it a feature length film.

    It’s no biggie though because they didn’t deviate from the original story, which is the important bit 😉

    I loved it when the narrator came on though, it’s like getting the book read to you all over again, just like when you were little 🙂

Leave a Reply

