The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived.

Salaams everyone!

So today was the birth date of the Prophet S.A.W. ๐Ÿ™‚

The birth date of THE greatest man who ever lived. God’s most love creation and the example to all of mankind.

The stories and lessons told of him have changed the way MILLIONS of people lived. He is perhaps the most influential man who ever lived, influencing not only the people of his time, but for many generations after, even now.

One can’t help but reflect on his stories, his life and feel inadequate. And why shouldn’t we feel inadequate?

We should all strive for the image he has set for the ‘ummah.

When we look at our lives and see the (minuscule) strifes and troubles we call ‘our problems’ and compare them to the challenges HE had to face in his time.

The pain, the suffering and the difficulties…Masha Allah.

AND, let’s not forget that he is ALLAH’S MOST LOVED CREATION.

You would think God would go easy on him yeah?

Everything happens for a reason…

Without the Prophet going through hardships, we would not know how to view OUR hardships…and more importantly, we won’t know how to go about handling them.

In the face of adversity, he practiced kindness, patience and compassion.

In the face of war and conflict, he practiced the manners of a brave and fierce LEADER of an army.

His wisdom knows no bounds and not a single sentence went by without someone around to note it down.

When I think about his accomplishments (of which he takes no PRIDE in) and all the lessons he has departed…I can’t help but be moved.

I then look at MYSELF and realize that I am NOTHING…not even CLOSE…nowhere NEAR close…

When I should strive to be so much more…

We all should strive to be so much more.

The one thing that always brings me close to tears is the Prophet’s Last Sermon, also known as the Farewell sermon, he delivered at Mount Arafat. It was his last sermon before his death one year after that…

“O People, lend me an attentive ear, for I don’t know whether, after this year, I shall ever be amongst you again. Therefore listen to what I am saying to you carefully and take these words to those who could not be present here today.

O People, just as you regard this month, this day, this city as Sacred, so regard the life and property of every Muslim as a sacred trust. Return the goods entrusted to you to their rightful owners. Hurt no one so that no one may hurt you. Remember that you will indeed meet your LORD, and that HE will indeed reckon your deeds. ALLAH has forbidden you to take usury (Interest), therefore all interest obligation shall henceforth be waived…

Beware of Satan, for the safety of your religion. He has lost all hope that he will ever be able to lead you astray in big things, so beware of following him in small things.

O People, it is true that you have certain rights with regard to your women, but they also have rights over you. If they abide by your right then to them belongs the right to be fed and clothed in kindness. Do treat your women well and be kind to them for they are your partners and committed helpers. And it is your right that they do not make friends with any one of whom you do not approve, as well as never to commit adultery.

O People, listen to me in earnest, worship ALLAH, say your five daily prayers (Salah), fast during the month of Ramadhan, and give your wealth in Zakat. Perform Hajj if you can afford to. Know that every Muslim is the brother of another Muslim. You are all equal. Nobody has superiority over another except by piety and good action.

Remember, one day you will appear before ALLAH and answer for your deeds. So beware, do not astray from the path of righteousness after I am gone.

O People, no prophet or apostle will come after me and no new faith will be born. Reason well, therefore, O People, and understand my words which I convey to you. I leave behind me two things, the QUR’AN and my example, the SUNNAH and if you follow these you will never go astray.

All those who listen to me shall pass on my words to others and those to others again; and may the last ones understand my words better than those who listen to me directly.”

He then asked,

“O people, have I faithfully delivered unto you my message?”

To which the thousands of people gathered in front of him in the valley thunderously yelled, “Allahumma na’m!” (O Allah, yes).

He then raised his forefinger and said,

“BE MY WITNESS O ALLAH THAT I HAVE CONVEYED YOUR MESSAGE TO YOUR PEOPLE.”

* * *

I don’t know why.

Don’t ask me why.

The very last line is the one that makes me choke. I don’t know why.

Perhaps it’s because it was the last line of the last sermon on his last (and only) pilgrimage.

Or perhaps it’s because it’s like, his job is done, you know?

That’s it…no more.

That’s where the ‘adventure ends’, as it were…

For someone I’ve never met…just from all the lessons I’ve learnt, from all the stories I’ve read…I love the Prophet so much.

I don’t deserve to be who I am…I really don’t.

I will do my best to try to make him proud, as should all of his ‘ummah.

So that all that he went through was not in vain…his job was to guide us…the blind and ignorant.

To guide us in not only religion, but everyday life…how to bathe, how to eat, how to talk to people. He provided guidance for marriage, for love, for banking, for war and for peace.

No man has guided a SOCIETY in as many aspects as the Prophet S.A.W.

Goes without saying…O Rasul, you did a fine job.

I hope you have a happy birthday up there, peace and blessings be upon you O Rasul.

2 Responses to “The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived.”

  1. Mashallah nice post…
    You know the prophet S.A.W never set foot in oman…but abubaker alsadeek went on his behalf to spread the word of islam…n we accepted it with no war n no trouble..and when he got back he told the prophet that the ppl of oman have become muslim with no trouble he was really happy and prayed for us…some say thatz why we are blessed…alhamdullah ala kul hal ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Wow! Masha Allah, I didn’t know that!

    You know my knowledge about Yemen is horrible right? Well, I remember hearing that the Prophet went to Yemen (?) or pointed to Yemen…or something :s

    ANYWAY, he referred to Yemen and said that the land was peaceful & blessed and some say that is why the place is so special. Hadramaut is a city that has apparently been forgotten by time and the mudhouses we were talking about still exist today because of it.

    If I am not wrong, most of the Ahli Al-Bayt moved to Yemen after that.

    Gosh, I need to read up more ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Leave a Reply

