The Birthday of An Angel

Salaams!

I want to just take a minute to wish happy birthday my dearest younger brother, Umar!

Habibi

*Umar Alhamid*

He’s now 18 years old!!!

Masha Allah 🙂

And yet, he’s still just a big baby 🙂

Umar has cerebral palsy, a condition he obtained shortly after delivery. Many people tend to view him as a burden to the family…but he has been nothing short of a blessing. He has brought much rezki to me and my family. Living and taking care of him has meant that my family and I have witnessed many miraculous things, which maybe I may blog about some time…but safe to say, there’s more to Umar than meets the eye.

He has taught all of us to be patient, he has inspired all of us with his strength and he has always reminded us…of what is truly important – akhirat (the hereafter).

I’ve always felt that Umar wanted to be this way…you know? Like, his soul was given a choice…to come on Earth as a normal human being and go through the struggles of life for a shot at a place in Heaven or to arrive on Earth a little bit different…and to suffer the physical pain of being different (he suffers from occasional fits and painful muscle cramps) and being denied of the simple pleasures of the world…but be guaranteed a place in Heaven.

I’d like to think that my brother made the wiser choice and sacrificed a normal life here on Earth…to obtain a better life in the Hereafter.

And I’ve always had the feeling that he did it for my mum.

He cannot walk nor speak and he suffers from cortical blindness, which means that there’s nothing wrong with his eyes…but the brain does not compute or process the visual information collected by the eyes.

Despite all this, I feel he is much, much, much better than any or all of us, for he has not sinned…not once…hehe, and his feet have never touched the ground 🙂

He is an absolute ANGEL and my family and I love him to absolute bits!

I love you Umar, and I know this world may mean nothing to you…but I am proud to call you my brother.

7 Responses to “The Birthday of An Angel”

  1. happy birthday Umar! 🙂

  2. This time, i almost cried. Thank you aman for the wonderful post. Everything you wrote agrees completely with how i feel towards special people like Umar. It’s true. Who are we compared to them? We are sinful but they, masyaAllah, are purer than the purest of white. Thank you again and may Allah bless your heart.

  3. 🙂

    Thank you Ike!

    Umar is a happy, bubbly little boy.

    Gosh, he’s 18 and I still call him a baby!

    “purer than the purest of white”, I like that, thank you.

    And yes, they are.

    Thanks for always saying nice things about my posts, may Allah bless your heart more 🙂

  4. hey..happy bday umar..ur turning into a MAN!! ur already 18 baby 😉

  5. roxyness Says:

    Umar,

    Happy 18th Birthday you young handsome one! 😉

    Alhamdulillah 🙂

    Although I’ve never met you before, I feel fortunate to acknowledge the presence of such a pure soul. Well actually I think we’re all lucky to even have someone like you in this messed up world. MashaAllah.

    May Allah bless you and your lil family with abundance of His Nur and Hidayah. Ameen. 🙂

  6. Ameen.

    Muchas gracias Rosie 🙂

    I think he too feels fortunate enough to acknowledge friendly and nice people such as yourself, even though he has yet to meet you…as I said in the post, there’s more to Umar than meets the eye.

    One thing everyone who has met Umar agrees on, is that if he was normal…he’d be fending off girls with a 15 foot pole 😉

    It’s true! When he was younger, he looked like Tom Cruise.

    And now he looks like Wentworth Miller.

    But if you ask me, I don’t think he’s stunning good looks outside comes even CLOSE to reflecting the beauty he has inside.

    And I doubt anyone is MORE WORTHY of such good looks either 🙂

  7. kaka miza Says:

    Assalamualaikum Umar…happy belated birthday…do u like paus? im a talking and walking pau…

Leave a Reply

